License To Carry(LTC) a handgun Course
The class plus the shooting range fee for an original concealed handgun license is $75 The new license class is between 4-6 classroom hours of state mandated training. I do courses in different areas of the state at varying addresses, so please call to reserve your spot and so that I can give you the address.
NOTICE: THIS CLASS DOES NOT PROVIDE SHOOTING INSTRUCTION. YOU MUST BE PROFICIENT WITH A FIREARM PRIOR TO TAKING THIS CLASS. I offer classes on shooting instruction to assist you in preparing for the handgun proficiency test (listed to the right). In addition to being a certified LTC Instructor I am also a NRA certified Handgun Instructor and offer the NRA classes totally separate and apart from the LTC course. The LTC course teaches about the laws and regulations of concealed carry in the state of Texas and some very basic safety and gun range rules.
Saturday, January 25, 2020 Class - 9am - 2pm Please call or text me at the phone number below for classroom and gun range information. For those participants who haven't shot before or who haven't shot in awhile; we can meet the before the class date at a shooting range so that I can give you instruction on handgun safety and work with you on your shooting technique. The Saturday class covers mostly the law of carrying and laws pertaining to owning a handgun and the use of your handgun. It is important that you are proficient in shooting before taking the range portion of the class. There is a written test on the classroom portion of the class and a shooting proficiency test.
What would you do in a mass shooting or work place shooting: I will hold small classes of 5-7 and cover the aspects of surviving a mass shooting or work place shooting. Don't get caught unprepared.
Contact: Joe Cavazos, certified LTC Instructor
mobile: 832 492-5188
Email: [email protected]
It is not necessary to have made the LTC application or the finger printing before taking the class; but, you may certainly do so. The cost of the application to the State of Texas depends on your status, for most the cost is $40. There are discounted rates for certain groups of applicants. Please see the Texas DPS website for all the different types of exemptions and the associated costs. The finger printing is done with digital fingerprinting and costs $9.95. Eligibility requirements are listed on the services page. For information on the CHL application please visit the Texas Department of Public Safety Concealed Handgun website: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/rsd/chl/index.htm
You should also have a gun that you are comfortable shooting. You may now qualify with any handgun for your LTC, this includes a .22 calibur handgun.